2 UB employees named outstanding members in PERAA awards



PERAA 2014

Dr. Orduña (left) and Papay (right) with UB president Johann Ben Bautista (center)



Two University of Baguio (UB) employees have been recognized at the Private Education Retirement Annuity Association’s (PERAA) Ten Outstanding PERAA Members awarding ceremonies held at the Legend Hotel in Puerto Princesa, Palawan on Oct. 17.


Lea Papay, section head librarian, won first place in the administrative category (Level B). Meanwhile, Dr. Lloyd Orduña, UB’s vice president for administration, came in at the third spot in the same category under Level A.


From over a thousand nominations, the top five were chosen based on their involvement in research and outreach activities and academic achievements, among others. The nominations were from PERAA’s member schools in all parts of the country.


Currently, PERAA has over 200 member institutions.


The top three were then selected, to which Papay and Orduña qualified.


In her profile, Papay – who is pursuing her doctorate – emphasized that with the massively increasing impact of information technology, the challenge for libraries is to “find new ways of managing and giving access to information technology and innovative ways of understanding interactions with users in both digital and hybrid environments.”


On the other hand, Orduña – who holds a PhD in education – underscores the need for the government to increase its budget allocation for education to ensure adequate classrooms and other facilities, to be able to employ highly qualified teachers and for all instructional materials to be readily available.


Papay and Orduña mark UB’s 20th win in the search since it started joining more than two decades ago.


Dr. Paciencia Calpito (UB School of Natural Sciences) and Dr. Ma. Lourdes Cantor (UB School of Dentistry) also qualified as finalists under Level A and Level B in the teaching category, respectively.


The UB finalists were pre-selected by the UB screening committee before being subjected to an extensive panel interview by PERAA. Educators from government institutions such as the Commission on Higher Education and the Department of Education comprised the panel. It also included school administrators and businessmen.


Last year, Dr. Marilou Saong of the UB School of Natural Sciences (SNS) placed second in the teaching category (Level A). Also, Jacqueline Hernandez, laboratory custodian of UB-SNS, garnered the third place in the administrative category (Level B).


Aimed at encouraging professional environment for continuous growth and trust-building, PERAA –based in Makati – annually honors employees of its member institutions who mirror exemplary service in their respective institutions.