UB rules Milo taekwondo Luzon leg tourney; set for nat’l championship



The UB team



Fresh from their MVP Best of the Best National Championship win, the University of Baguio (UB) taekwondo team scored yet again another feat when it ruled the Luzon leg of the Milo taekwondo tournament at the Green Valley Hotel Gym on Sept. 6-7.


Competing against the representative jins of Region I, II, III and CAR, Irven Dhale Langaoen, Rama Chandra Liporada, Rain Ramon, Jessa Tumlayen, Chelsea Xen Tacay, Arriana Rocel Badando, and Disney Sheridan Romuar all nailed gold medals to dominate the elementary division. Meanwhile, Eugene George Garcia and Lei Ramon settled as silver and bronze medalists, respectively.


On the other hand, Angelica Joyce Gaw, Ma. Kaye Shannelle Romuar, Phoebie Kate De Guzman, Leslie Marie Agyamoc, Brighty Rio Salazar, Monsour Carlo Salazar, Tristan Dale Cayago, Kendrix Klyndale Galian, Troy Nathaniel Cayago, Rencer Shane Lavestre, and Ican Balinong of the UB High School outperformed all their opponents, finishing as gold medalists.


Moreover, UB Science High School’s Mary Ceniza Quiambao (gold), Kriszna Chaitania Liporada (silver), Craemer Juris Quiambao (silver), Khristian Daniel Mamtag (silver), and Jamila Maryse Rillorta (bronze) rounded out the championship win for the high school division.


Arnold Oglayon, head coach of the UB taekwondo team, said the support of the UB administration “has been a big help in the group’s victories over the years.” He said UB has been dominating the event for the last five years.


“But of course we will never forget God’s guidance, which kept us going,” he added.


The team will be representing Luzon in the nationals set on Oct. 25-27.