UB dominates BBEAL Awards 2016; rules 29th Season




 The UB winners with University president Prof. Dhanna Kerina Rodas and Rep. Mark Go, who was the guest speaker at the event

(Photo: Rene Pascua/UB Media Affairs and Publications Office)



The University of Baguio (UB) scooped majority of the awards at the Heroes: BBEAL Awards, a ceremony that recognizes the recent Baguio-Benguet Educational Athletic League (BBEAL) Season’s outstanding players.


For the 29th Season of the BBEAL tournament, in which UB was over-all champion, the UB team snagged 30 of the 64 awards handed out. Here are the awardees from UB:


Table Tennis (Female)                Honey Clair Magdugo

Chess (Female)                           Gale Ann Gupez

Athletics (Female)                       Gemma Cawid                  

Judo (Female)                              Sylvia Carame

Swimming (Male)                        Jonathan Cheng

Archery (Female)                         Loren Chloe Balaoing

Archery (Male)                              Denver Alubia

Taekwondo (Female)                  Joanne Esguerra

Taekwondo (Male)                        Leomar Agyamoc

Lawn Tennis (Male)                      Joshua de Guzman

Basketball – Point Guard (Female)               Cristy Ranilo

Basketball – Point Guard (Male)                    Renzae Cosme

Basketball – Shooting Guard (Female)        Raechelle Anne Sao

Basketball – Small Forward (Male)               Erick Victorio

Basketball – Power Forward (Male)              Rommel delos Santos

Basketball – Rookie of the Year (Female)              Janine Orca

Basketball – Rookie of the Year (Male)                   Danielle Abo

Basketball – MVP (Female)                                       Raechelle Anne Sao

Basketball – MVP (Male)                                            Rommel delos Santos                           

Basketball – Coach of the Year (Female)                Delson Terceño

Basketball – Coach of the Year (Male)                     Joel Flores

Volleyball – MVP (Female)                                         Cherry Atuban

Volleyball – Best Setter (Female)                              Cherry Atuban

Volleyball – Best Attacker (Female)                          Mary Ann Atuban

Volleyball – Best Attacker (Male)                               Kurl Rosete

Volleyball – Best Blocker (Female)                            Nicole Guyguyon

Volleyball – Best Blocker (Male)                                 Alvin Mark Tuliao

Volleyball – Coach of the Year (Female)                   Jhiesel Agudia

Coach of the Year (Male)                                               Arnold Oglayon




The BBEAL Awards was conceived in 2008 by the Baguio Correspondents and Broadcasters Club. “[We wanted] to motivate [our athletes] further to do better, to strive harder and to do exactly the same in the bigger game, which is life,” noted Baguio journalist Pigeon Lobien, who was the Club’s president in 2008. (Lobien spearheaded the conduct of the Awards in 2009, 2010 and in 2013, including the recent one. True Colors Sports magazine, founded by Lobien himself, Rod Osis, Richard Balonglong, Waffy Casem and Gabby Bautista, handled the activity in 2012. No Awards were held for the  2014-2015 Season of BBEAL, as the volleyball event was scheduled on the second semester.)



“The year-long preparation, the blood, sweat and tears – you give all that while you do your studies. I look up to that,” Lobien said. 





 The winners received personalized certificates sketched by Baguio-based artist Gerald Asbucan. (Photo: Rene Pascua/UB Media Affairs and Publications Office)




UB president Prof. Dhanna Kerina Rodas and Rep. Mark Go with sportswriter Pigeon Lobien (extreme left) and Baguio artist Gerald Asbucan (second from left) 

(Photo: Rene Pascua/UB Media Affairs and Publications Office)




The UB players and their coaches with President Rodas, Rep. Go, and UB Athletics Office director Alan Elegado (extreme left, standing) 

(Photo: Rene Pascua/UB Media Affairs and Publications Office)









Print   Email