School Brief History

The UB Science High School was founded by Dr. Reinaldo C. Bautista Sr. and can be considered as one of the pioneers of science education in the country.A PACUCOA Accredited – Level II academic community, Education Service Contracting (ESC) participating school and Senior High School Voucher Program recipient.

In 1963, up on graduating from the sixth grade, some students all over Baguio took a special test. The students who passed were put together in one class and was called the Special Science Scholars Section (SSSS).Since then, an annual scholarship exam was being administered for the best and the brightest pupils. In 1967, the first batch of intellectually  gifted students graduated, it was also the same year the UB Science High School was born.

In 1970, the UB Science High School received its legal recognition with Government Recognition No. 151 s. 1970.

For more than six decades now, the culture of excellence of the school continue, as it gained recognition as a consistent top performing school. But beyond academic excellence, the school is a home of budding young scientists, outstanding athletes and artists. The school    has consistently reaped awards and citations in local, regional, national and international competitions.

What may make the school a part from others are its socially relevant programs like Outreach Activities, Immersion and Scout Camps. In these programs, the school develops the totality of the youth, for they are not only academicians but young students who are able to respond to the needs of the society.

By the mandate of  R.A 10533,also known as the Enhanced Basic Education Act of 2013,the UB Science High School followed its provision of having a six-year secondary education program. With four years of junior high school and two years of senior high school.

The UB Science High School’s Senior High Program opened its doors in 2015 with Government Permit No. SHS – P – 0031, s. 2015. The school offers Academic track on Humanities and Social Science (HUMSS), Accountancy, Business and Management (ABM) and Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).